Patton Oswalt to Host 16th Annual Webby Awards


This Internet Week coverage is brought to you by ShareThis. The best content is hand picked.

Don't miss it. Wait, miss what? The Webby Awards! Critically-acclaimed stand-up comedian, writer, and actor Patton Oswalt will host The 16th Annual Webby Awards on May 21st at The Hammerstein Ballroom. The show, which honors excellence on the Internet and is known for its iconic (mostly) 5-word acceptance speech policy, will present awards to this year's Webby Award and People's Voice Award winners.

The live-streamed Webby Awards show will honor this year's Special Recognition Awards winners: Mayor Bloomberg for Lifetime Achievement; comedian Louis C.K for Person of the Year; Instagram for Breakout of the Year; Bjork for Artist of the Year; and Juliette Lewis and Graydon Sheppard for Actresses of the Year.

This year's award show will also feature the first-ever Meme of the Year award, which will be announced during the live-streamed broadcast and a special video tribute honoring Apple Founder Steve Jobs, featuring 5 words in remembrance from top tech and pop-culture icons including President Bill Clinton, Vice President Al Gore, Jon Stewart,, George Lucas, Arianna Huffington, Trent Reznor, Vint Cerf, and more.

Don't miss it.

This Internet Week coverage has been brought to you by ShareThis. Sharing matters.


by Steve Hall    May-15-12   Click to Comment   
Topic: Industry Events